top of page
  • Jen Hawley

Spend Your Heart - My Inspiration


My mom with my sister, Joy

Thank you for checking out my first recording project, Spend Your Heart - celebrating my mother, Margie Hamilton. It features new arrangements of some of her favorite songs along with two of my own tunes.

My mother is my inspiration. It was the small moments that changed me. The moments she never knew I saw: The times I caught her on her knees with her Bible and a prayer. The times I overheard her singing as she graciously cooked our evening meal. And it was the moments of intention: the never-ending hugs and "I love you's," the silly moments that had us all laughing, the countless nights of tucking us into bed, reminding us that Jesus loved us.

Thank you, Mom, for Spending Your Heart.

You, the listener, are also part of my inspiration. Spending Your Heart is not always the easiest choice we make in life. It's those times you choose to keep "loving anyways." When you clean up the mess...again. When you forgive one more time. When you choose to wait and not give up.

Thank you for Spending Your Heart.

And, to all the parents who remain faithful and persistent even in those moments of being completely spent - "thank you." Your efforts won't fade away, even though you might feel they go unnoticed in the moment.

Thank you for Spending Your Heart.

Each of the songs on this album is a part of my personal story. If you'd like, join me over the next several months as I reflect on each song and the memories. Hopefully, they will spark in you memories and inspirations of your own.

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page