top of page
  • Jen Hawley

Good Morning!


Mornings always come, whether we like it or not. Growing up, my favorite mornings were Saturdays. Sometimes my parents would sleep a little later, and I’d get up and sneak ice cream out of the freezer for breakfast. My favorite – black raspberry. Then came my teen years - the Saturdays where I’d sleep and sleep and then pretend to sleep some more. Yes – at age 17, those were my favorite mornings by far.

But, like every other household, Saturday mornings are only a rare gem in each week, filled by early mornings of dragging yourself out of bed and racing out the door before the sun comes up.

Though I hated them as a kid, my memories of those weekday morning have become my favorites. You see, each weekday morning was filled with the consistent love of my mom. Each morning – she was always awake before I was. Each morning - a hug and a kiss. Each morning - making breakfast for us kids. My two favorites: fried eggs with toast and cream of wheat. Throughout much of my younger childhood, she was my alarm clock. And usually her methods included a very simple, repetitive and WAY-TOO-CHEERY song that she’d sing as she’d flip on the lights in the morning. “Good morning Good morning Good morning, it’s time to rise and shine!” This song is seared into my memory. So, of course, how could I make an album of my mother’s songs without including Good Morning!

To you parents out there - be encouraged. The small consistent efforts really do add up. We could all learn something from my mother’s morning routines. I’m changed because of them. So, I hope you enjoy this song, and if it works for your family, have fun adding it to your morning routine.

Listen along on Amazon Music: Good Morning!

Or listen on Spotify:

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page